Philippine Standard Time (PST)
User Online:

Web Visitor Counter:

Political History

     Declared as distinct and separate municipality on June 11,1978, Kalayaan would remain under the custody of the Department of National Defense until January 30, 1980, when it had it first ever election. Mr. Abner M. Heraldo became the first elected mayor and Engr. Dante T. Amata, the vice mayor. The first set of Sangguniang Bayan members were: Hons. Gelacio N. Nero, Melchor D. Pariña, Virgilio T. Tapang. Rodrigo N. Ignacio Fidelino D. Fernandez, Jose V. Era, Ismael A. Igelsias and Victor B. de Manuel, Mayor Heraldo resigned after holding the office for only seven (7) months. What remained of the first set of elected officials held on to their positions until October 20, 1987 when Hon. Alejandro C. Rodriguez and Hon. Gaudencio R. Avaceña were appointed by 2nd District Congressman Ramon V. Mitra Jr., as Mayor and Vice Mayor respectively.

     A new set of Sangguniang Bayan was also appointed by then DILG Secretary Luis T. Santos on November 13, 1987. These appointed officials remained until December 5, 1978. On January 18, 1988, the 2nd election was held and installed Hon. Alejandro Rodriguez, Mayor, and Hon. Gaudencio Avaceña, Vice Mayor. The Sangguniang Bayan was composed of the following honorable members: Violeto V. Aranay, Bernando C. Arzaga, Roque G. Aurelio, Jen B. Briones, Pacifico V. Garcia, Eduardo G. Tabinga, Rodrigo L. Tiosin and Apolonio L. Zambales.

     On June 18, 1989, Tulawi Hadji Ali became the first Barangay Captain of Barangay Pag-asa, Kalayaan’s lone barangay, when he was elected as such in a COMELEC supervised election. Elected Barangay Kagawads were Leonora Rodriguez, Renato Masa, Subandrio Kamsa and Abdulgapul Makarinal. The elections of 1992 installed Hon. Gil D. Policarpio as Mayor and Hon. Lazaro S. del Rio as Vice Mayor. Sangguniang Bayan members were Hon. Alfredo L. Enano. Rolly S. Mingarine, Jacquline A. Rozul, Pacifico V. Garcia, Herminio I. Paalan Jr, Raul B. Masa, Andrew Avanceña (passed away on Nov. 28, 1994) and Romulo B. Masa. Hon. Fernando P. dela Torre Sr. as ABC President and Hon. Paul Ronald Magay as SK Chairman were Ex-Officio Members of the Sangguniang Bayan. Most of them held their respective positions until 2001 except for Hons. Pacifico V. Garcia, Raul B. Masa and Andrew Avanceña.

     The first two lost the May 1995 elections while Avanceña died in office. Elected to replace the three were Hons. Carlito O. Villon, Vicencio R. Milan and Walter C. Conde. Hon. Rolly S. Mingarine lost in 1998, and was replaced by Hon. Tomas M. Valmonte. The first and only SK Election in Barangay Pag-asa was held on December 4, 1992. Paul Ronald Magay was elected SK Chairman and Evelyn B. Ascano, Maricel B. Bruce, Allan Jeoffrey G. Garcia, Joanita R. Briones, Emily S. Melendres, Ma. Leonila D. Manalo SK Kagawads.

     In the election of May 14, 2001, Hon. Rosendo L. Mantes and Jacqueline A. Rozul were elected Mayor and Vice Mayor, respectively. Hons. Josephine G. Montes, Antonio B. Buñag, Jerry p. Pelaez, Rogelio V. Merced, Walter C. Conde, Deogracias N. Diwara, Rodolfo M. Eleazar and Angel C. Rabaya were elected Sangguniang Members.

| Copyright © 2013 | Municipal Government of Kalayaan, Palawan, Philippines 5322 |
Email Ad: | Tel. Fax No. (63) (048) 434 - 8532
Old Telecom Building, Burgos Street, Brgy. Masikap, Puerto Princesa City, Palawan, Philippines 5300